About Kathryn Holmes

official bio: 

Kathryn Holmes grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband, daughter, and piles upon piles of books. A graduate of The New School’s MFA in Creative Writing program, Kathryn works as a freelance dance journalist, among other writing gigs. She is the author of The Distance Between Lost and Found and How It Feels to Fly

Kathryn is represented by Alyssa Eisner Henkin of Trident Media Group.

the longer, more fun version:

As long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to do two things with my life: write and dance. Now, I’m lucky enough to be able to divide most of my days between words and movement, as an author/freelance writer and a contemporary dancer. (This is when I'm not in Mom-mode to my adorable, rambunctious toddler!) On the writing front: in addition to my YA novels, you can find my byline in Dance MagazineDance SpiritPointe, Dance Teacher, and other national dance publications. On the dance front: when I’m not parked in front of my computer, you’ll probably find me stretching and leaping and spinning at one of NYC’s many dance studios. I’ve performed with NYC-based choreographers including Diane McCarthy, Becky Radway, and Max Stone, as well as presenting my own choreography around the city.  

I grew up in East Tennessee near the Smoky Mountains, not far from where The Distance Between Lost and Found is set. I was (and still am) far from outdoorsy, but I’ve done my fair share of hiking over the years. As a kid, I was a serious introvert and a voracious reader. Today, I’m less of an introvert, but just as much of a reader. That line about “piles upon piles of books” in my official bio? It’s no joke. 

What else should you know about me?

  • I went to Goucher College in Baltimore, Maryland, where I double-majored in Dance and English Literature. 

  • I’ve lived in Brooklyn for more than a decade, and I can’t imagine living anywhere else.

  • In addition to being a mom, I’m an aunt to five awesome nephews.

  • My favorite color is purple. 

  • I’m a cat person. 

  • I love cooking and baking—especially if chocolate is involved.  

  • I drink a lot of coffee.

Thanks for visiting my little corner of the Internet!